Events

Past Event

PERN Cyberseminar on “The Demography of Sustainable Human Wellbeing

March 14, 2022 - March 21, 2022
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, 61 Route 9W, Palisades, NY 10964

PERN’s cyberseminar on “The Demography of Sustainable Human Wellbeing” is taking place from 14-21 March 2022. In collaboration with the Wittgenstein Center of Demography and Human wellbeing, the seminar aims to vet a newly proposed indicator of human wellbeing “Years of Good Life” (counting only years of life above minimum levels of physical and mental health, income, and subjective life satisfaction) by Lutz and others (see PNAS article). This indicator has been designed to have the potential to serve as a widely accepted criterion for sustainable development once feed-backs form environmental change and other possible trends are factored in.

On the first day of the cyberseminar, Monday 14 March at 14:00 UTC (10 am Eastern Time / 15:00 CET), a 1.5 hour webinar will take place with various expert contributions to the topic of human well-being. Some of the panelists will include:

  • Partha Dasgupta, University of Cambridge
  • Wolfgang Lutz, Wittgenstein Center of Demography and Human Capital
  • Jeff Sachs, Columbia University
  • David Smith, The University of the West Indies  

We look forward to welcoming you and having a fruitful discussion.  

For more information on how to participate, please visit https://www.populationenvironmentresearch.org/cyberseminars#instructions

Contact Information

PERN