Dennis V. Kent

Dennis V. Kent is Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University and Board of Governors Professor Emeritus at Rutgers University. He is an author of more than 300 journal and book articles with nearly 40,000 citations and an h-index of over 90 on Google Scholar dealing with paleogeography, paleoclimate and the long-term carbon cycle, polar wander, geomagnetic paleosecular variation and the tempo of polarity reversals, and other aspects of Earth magnetism.

Kent has served as a member and a chair of the governing boards of the Joint Oceanographic Institutions and Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Management International; as elected president of the Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism Section of AGU; as elected member-at-large of the section on Geology and Geography of AAAS; and on the editorial advisory board of the Earth and Planetary Science Letters.

Kent is married and they have a married daughter and live in Piermont, New York.

Fields of Interest

Paleomagnetism and geomagnetism and their application to paleogeography, ancient climate, the long-term carbon cycle, and the tempo of the geodynamo over geologic time scales.


  • Ph.D. (Marine Geology & Geophysics) Columbia University, NY
  • B.S. (Geology) City College, City University of New York, NY

Honors & Awards

  • John Adam Fleming Medal, American Geophysical Union (2022)
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2012)
  • Arduino Lecture, University of Padova (2010)
  • William Gilbert Award, American Geophysical Union (2009)
  • Petrus Peregrinus Medal, European Geosciences Union (2006)
  • Docteur honoris causa, Sorbonne, Universities of Paris-IPGP (2005)
  • Member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (2004)
  • Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research, Rutgers University (2004)
  • Arthur L. Day Medal, Geological Society of America (2003)
  • Vening Meinesz Medal, Delft University, Holland (2003)
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1993)
  • Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (1991)
  • Fellow of the Geological Society of America (1985)